Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Mozart Masterpieces Brought To Life On Yamaha's Piano Radio!

Anyone can tell you that Mozart is one of the most important classical composers that ever lived. Born in what is now Austria, he began composing at the age of 5. In the next 30 years of his life, Mozart would pen more than 600 compositions, ranging from choral music to piano solos, symphonies, operas, and chamber music.

Mozart's talent was so great, and his ear for music so strong; he transcribed Gregorio Allegri's Miserere in its entirety from memory, having heard the piece performed only once. In doing so, Mozart created the first illegal copy of the Vatican owned composition, which at the time was punishible by excommunication!

Mozart drew influence from popular Baroque composers including J.S. Bach, and Handel, and was very good friends with his Classical contemporary, Joseph Haydn. His work would directly influence that of Ludwig van Beethoven and Mozart's most famous pupil: Johann Nepomuk Hummel in addition to countless others. His style evolved constantly. It is said that Mozart pushed the technical sophistication and emotional range of many popular genres during his time, while developing and popularizing the Piano Concerto almost entirely on his own.

We couldn't think of a better way to pay tribute to the brilliance of Mozart's music than to give him his very own channel on Yamaha's Piano Radio. The Mozart Masterpieces Channel goes live today at Channel 22 on Yamaha's Piano Radio and will be dedicated to the work of a young man with insurmountable talent. Mozart Masterpieces features over 4 hours of Mozart's most famous compositions, performed by talented pianists including Meiko Miyazawa, Bryan Pezzone, Michael Endres, and many more!

If you're new to Yamaha's Piano Radio service, it has never been easier to get connected. Visit our comprehensive Connection Guide and start streaming over 20 channels of piano music through your Yamaha Disklavier, Clavinova, or Keyboard- 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Check out the current Channel List to see what else is available now, or listen to some samples from the brand new Mozart Masterpieces channel below:

The Abduction From the Seraglio from the PianoSoft Solo Collection:
Mozart Opera Overtures

Rondo in D Major, K. 485 From the PianoSoft Solo Collection:
Meiko Miyazawa- The Young Mozart

Sonata No. 12 in F Major, K 332- Allegro From the PianoSoft Solo Collection:
Bryan Pezzone- Mozart Piano Solos.